Call 01279 211710


The course will consider different typologies and the impact on families and children. The course will improve your understanding of the impact on the family and the community as a whole, and how you can improve the support you offer victims, survivors and witness. The course will also look at the risk factors, how to assess risk, and how to address the risk when supporting families. Learnings from serious case reviews will be considered as well as how to work with other agencies in order to ensure the best outcomes for victims, survivors and witnesses.

Mandatory A Develop a Culture & Systems to Promote Equality & Value Diversity 12 4 6
Mandatory A Safeguarding Adults 20 4 5
Mandatory A Promote Multi-Agency Working at Agencies Meetings 20 4 6
Optional B Assist Victims, Witnesses & Survivors to manage the effects of their experiences 15 4 3
Optional B Support Vulnerable or Intimidated Witnesses during judicial & legal processes 15 3 4
Optional C Develop Working Relationships with Colleagues & Stakeholders 20 4 4
Optional C Contribute to Development, Implementation & Evaluation of Strategies and
Policies for recruiting & managing volunteers
25 4 6
Optional C Manage the performance of Teams and Individuals 16 3 6
Optional C Establishing & Maintaining Client Referrals & Information Exchange Systems 30 4 5
Optional C Monitor Compliance with Quality Systems 21 5 7
Optional C Ensure Compliance with Legal Regulatory Ethical & Social Requirements 25 4 5
Optional C Develop own practice through reflection 30 3 4

Why study with the LSTA?

Why gain a qualification?

A qualification is proof that you have the right skills to do your job well and many employers are looking to employ people who have a recognised industry related qualification. You can be confident that your qualification acknowledges your professionalism and will be well respected within your particular Sector.

Who is it for?

By completing the Community and Social Justice Qualifications: - Working with Victims, Survivors & Witnesses or Supporting Survivors of Domestic Abuse you will not only identify and under pin the skills you already have but also learn new ones that could help you find work in a wider range of roles including:
  • Probation Services
  • Prosecution Services
  • Policing and Law Enforcement  
  • Community and Youth Work
  • Courts and Tribunal Services
  • Social Services
  • Local Authority
  • Health Services
  • The Voluntary or Third Sector
  • Residential Care
  • Practitioners and Support Workers in Care Home Services
  • Adult Day Care Services
  • Housing Support Services
If you already work within one of the sectors above, completing the qualification can help you take on a more senior role giving you more options as well as develop a professional relationship with staff in other agencies to represent the interest of individuals and families.

What support will you have?

For each unit your assessor will use a range of different assessment practices and together you will take part in professional discussions, observations, produce witness accounts, case studies and assignments to build a portfolio, to evidence your knowledge and learning.

How long will it take?

The full qualification usually takes twelve months to complete, but it can also be up the Learner. A selection of units can be completed to help you gain credits towards a full qualification and can be achieved in your own time and at your own pace, allowing you more flexibility.

What level should I do?

The qualification is at different Levels ie 2, 3 & 4 and learners can attain an Award, Certificate or Diploma depending on the level of your own ability. To achieve any of the qualifications learners are expected to complete both mandatory and optional units from the qualification structure index.

What criteria do I have to meet?

  • You will be looking to work or be working or volunteering in anyone of the Community Justice Sectors listed above, in an outreach or support or management role.
  • You will have some experience and you may already supervise others or manage resources.
  • You want to develop your skills further to take on more responsibility and would like to be considered for promotion
  • Have been working in the sector for a number of years without a recognized qualification and therefore would like to gain a qualification.

There are 12 Units in total for this qualification that has been arranged into Mandatory Group A and Optional Groups B and C. Learner must complete all 3 Mandatory Unit in Group A and Optional Groups. A minimum of one unit from Group B and then sufficient units from Group C to achieve a total of 37 credit for the Course. There are 162 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) max

Need advice?

Our staff can help you find the right course and learning approach that fits your needs. For this or any other questions send an email to:
or call 01279 211710


For information or should you have any
questions please send an email to

Or call us on: 8729115

If you are a business who is interested in having one or more of your employees enroll on one or more of our accredited courses, contact us for group inquiries

Stay up to date

Follow us online: