Call 01279 211710


The course provides a mix of theoretical understanding, reflection and practical skills and tools. It is suitable for anyone working with families, including Social Workers, Troubled Families teams, Family Support Workers, and CAFCASS officers etc. You will be working in other areas where you meet victims of domestic abuse every day. You may work in children’s or adult’s safeguarding teams, education, housing, health, alcohol or drug services, at a Citizen’s Advice Bureau or local Victim Support Service. The chances are that victims aren’t telling you directly about the abuse. But with training you’ll learn how to spot the signs, ‘ask the questions’, assess the level of risk and be trained in how best to respond.

Mandatory A Communicate effectively with People whilst maintaining the security of information 15 3 3
Mandatory A Safeguarding Adults – A Level 4 Unit 20 4 5
Mandatory A Provide Initial Support to Victims & Witnesses 15 3 3
Mandatory A Promote Equality and Value Diversity 30 3 6
Optional B Contribute to the Effectiveness of Team Working 15 3 3
Optional B Develop Effective Working with Staff from other Agencies 15 3 3
Optional B Develop own Knowledge Skills and Competence 15 3 3
Optional B Ensure your own actions reduce risks to Health & Safety 6 3 2
Optional B Assist Victims, Witnesses & Survivors to manage the effects of their experiences 15 4 3
Optional B Facilitate Learning & Development in Groups 25 3 6
Optional B Facilitate Learning & Development for Individuals 25 3 6
Optional B Enable Individuals to access Services & Facilities 15 3 3
Optional B Assist Witnesses & Their Associates to prepare for judicial & legal processes 20 3 5
Optional B Develop a Trusting Relationship with Individuals 20 3 6
Optional B Provide Support & Review Achievements Through Monitoring & Befriending 25 3 6
Optional B Support Victims & Survivors of Domestic & Sexual Abuse & Violence 20 3 5

There are sixteen units in total for this qualification that has been arranged in four Mandatory Units in Group A. Learners can take sufficient units in Optional Group B to achieve a minimum of 37 credits. There are 162 Guided Learning Hours (GLH)

Why study with the LSTA?

Why gain a qualification?

A qualification is proof that you have the right skills to do your job well and many employers are looking to employ people who have a recognised industry related qualification. You can be confident that your qualification acknowledges your professionalism and will be well respected within your particular Sector.

Who is it for?

By completing the Community and Social Justice Qualifications: - Working with Victims, Survivors & Witnesses or Supporting Survivors of Domestic Abuse you will not only identify and under pin the skills you already have but also learn new ones that could help you find work in a wider range of roles including:
  • Probation Services
  • Prosecution Services
  • Policing and Law Enforcement  
  • Community and Youth Work
  • Courts and Tribunal Services
  • Social Services
  • Local Authority
  • Health Services
  • The Voluntary or Third Sector
  • Residential Care
  • Practitioners and Support Workers in Care Home Services
  • Adult Day Care Services
  • Housing Support Services
If you already work within one of the sectors above, completing the qualification can help you take on a more senior role giving you more options as well as develop a professional relationship with staff in other agencies to represent the interest of individuals and families.

What support will you have?

For each unit your assessor will use a range of different assessment practices and together you will take part in professional discussions, observations, produce witness accounts, case studies and assignments to build a portfolio, to evidence your knowledge and learning.

How long will it take?

The full qualification usually takes twelve months to complete, but it can also be up the Learner. A selection of units can be completed to help you gain credits towards a full qualification and can be achieved in your own time and at your own pace, allowing you more flexibility.

What level should I do?

The qualification is at different Levels ie 2, 3 & 4 and learners can attain an Award, Certificate or Diploma depending on the level of your own ability. To achieve any of the qualifications learners are expected to complete both mandatory and optional units from the qualification structure index.

What criteria do I have to meet?

  • You will be looking to work or be working or volunteering in anyone of the Community Justice Sectors listed above, in an outreach or support or management role.
  • You will have some experience and you may already supervise others or manage resources.
  • You want to develop your skills further to take on more responsibility and would like to be considered for promotion
  • Have been working in the sector for a number of years without a recognized qualification and therefore would like to gain a qualification.

Need advice?

Our staff can help you find the right course and learning approach that fits your needs. For this or any other questions send an email to:
or call 01279 211710


For information or should you have any
questions please send an email to

Or call us on: 8729115

If you are a business who is interested in having one or more of your employees enroll on one or more of our accredited courses, contact us for group inquiries

Stay up to date

Follow us online: